SolidarityLGBT-Chechnya-Donbass

Urgent Need for Sustained Solidarity with LGBTI People in Chechnya and Donbass

Violence and discrimination based on sexual orientation and/or gender identity are sadly still common phenomena. Many are in need of support, international solidarity, and protection. Recently, the situation in Eastern Europe has been most acute in Chechnya and in parts of Luhansk and Donetsk oblasts that are not controlled by Ukraine

The situations in these places are in many ways similar: extrajudicial detentions and arrests, threats, torture, blackmail – and denial of these occurrences and even the very possibility that LGBTI people could exist in these regions. LGBTI people who have not been able to leave these areas must lie low, hide their relationships, and live in constant fear of exposure. Not everyone can leave – someone always remains, someone is born and grows up in an atmosphere of authoritarian regimes, terror, and discrimination.

These people often feel that no one in the world is prepared to protect and support them or even just accept and understand them.

The human rights organizations Anti-Discrimination Center Memorial and the Center for Civil Liberties call upon anyone who values human rights and cannot tolerate discriminatory violence to join the campaign #SolidarityLGBT-Chechnya-Donbass by sending photos, video addresses, and pictures in defense of the rights of people who are suffering now.

People have already appeared who are not afraid to announce: Je suis a gay Chechen. The goal of our campaign is to collect as many similar expressions of solidarity as possible and to stand up against the unrestrained and rampant violence of self-proclaimed governments and authoritarian rulers in the region, where international law should reign.

If all these statements in defense of the rights to self-determination, human dignity, and non-discriminatory treatment are collected in one place, they should become a demonstration not just of support and sympathy, but also of a readiness to combat lawlessness and lies.

SolidarityLGBT-Chechnya-Donbass

Солидарность с ЛГБТИ Чечни и Донбасса нужна срочно – и надолго

Насилия и дискриминация на почве сексуальной ориентации и/или гендерной идентичности, увы, пока частое явление. Поддержка, международная солидарность, защита нужны многим. В последнее время самой острой в Восточной Европе оказалась ситуация в Чечне  и в неконтролируемых Украиной частях Луганской и Донецкой областей

Ситуация эта во многом похожа: внесудебные задержания и аресты, угрозы, пытки, вымогательство – и отрицание этих явлений, как и самой возможности присутствия ЛГБТ в вышеназванных регионах. Те из ЛГБТ, кто не смог уехать, вынуждены таиться, скрывать свои отношения, жить в постоянном страхе разоблачения. Все уехать не могут – кто-то всегда остается, кто-то рождается и вырастает в обстановке авторитарных режимов, террора, дискриминации.

Этим людям часто кажется, что в мире никто не готов защитить и поддержать их – даже просто принять и понять.

Правозащитные организации Антидискриминационный центр «Мемориал» и Центр гражданских свобод  призывают всех, кто дорожит правами человека и не готов принять дискриминационное насилие присоединяться к кампании #SolidarityLGBTChechnyaDonbass – присылать фотографии и слова поддержки, видеообращения и изображения в защиту прав людей, которым сейчас так трудно.

Уже появились люди, не побоявшиеся заявить: Je suis чеченский гей.  Цель нашей кампании – собрать как можно больше подобных выражений солидарности, выступить против неконтролируемого и неуправляемого насилия самопровозглашенных властей и авторитарных правителей в регионе, где должны править закон и международное право.

Собранные в одном месте выступления в защиту права на самоопределение, человеческого достоинства и недискриминационного отношения должны стать демонстрацией не только поддержки и сочувствия страдающим людям, но и готовности многих противостоять беззаконию и лжи.

Все отчеты Все публикации